Skip to Content
1800 372 310
Elder Abuse Phoneline

Anne Burgess

Anne Burgess


Anne was appointed to the Board in November 2016. She brings to the Board extensive experience from her career as a senior public sector bureaucrat in SA which culminated in her two year term as Acting Commissioner for Equal Opportunity from June 2010 to July 2012. She has a strong background in equal opportunity, planning, strategy and problem solving from her years at senior levels within the areas of health, mental health and the equal opportunity. Anne also has experience in the not for profit sector, including her current positions as Deputy President of COTA and Chair of their Policy Council and a member of the National Aged Care Alliance. Anne holds a number of other positions including member of the Chiropractic Board of Australia and Assistant Commissioner Public Sector Grievance Review Commission.

Michael Fabbro

Michael Fabbro

Deputy Chairperson

Michael joined the Board of ARAS in 2001 and has served continuously since that time. He is a practising solicitor and principal of Ezra Legal, a CBD based commercial law firm, and holds a Bachelor of Law with Honours and a Bachelor of Commerce majoring in Accounting. Michael is a Fellow of the Tax Institute of Australia, a member of the Leaders Institute of South Australia and the Australian Restructuring Insolvency and Turnaround Association; he is also Chairman of Greyhound Racing South Australia Ltd and has served on that Board since 2009. Through his legal practice, Michael has also been an advisory board member for a number of clients’ private companies and has had extensive commercial experience across the food manufacturing, hospitality and construction industries. Michael also commonly works with the elderly in his legal practice in the area of Wills and Estates and has commenced volunteering his time with Legacy to assist their clients in that area also.

Michael DwyerMichael Dwyer BEc, ANZCA, FTIA


Michael is a Chartered Accountant and Fellow of the Tax Institute of Australia, who commenced his career with Price Waterhouse in Sydney in 1978, after graduating from Sydney University. Michael transferred to the Price Waterhouse Adelaide office and in 1992 joined BDO Chartered Accountants as a Business Services and Tax partner. In 1996 he became, and remains a consultant to BDO, as well as consulting to other practices and in an individual capacity to clients. Michael specialises in business and taxation advice to small and medium business, as well as individuals. He was an inaugural director of the Adelaide Rams Rugby League company, was a director and former chair of Insurance and Membership Services Ltd, and was a director of COTA/ National Seniors partnership.


Ian YatesIan Yates

Over the last decade Ian has been Deputy Chancellor of Flinders University and Chair of its Strategic Resources Committee and various other Committees; Chair of the Cancer Council SA and a Director of the Cancer Council Australia; Deputy Chair of the Repatriation General Hospital in SA; Deputy Chair of the SA Council of Social Service; Board Member of the Southern Adelaide Health Service; Board Member of the Flinders Medical Centre; and a member of the SA Government's Health Performance Council. Ian serves on a wide variety of federal government and aged care sector national bodies. He is a member of the Federal Government's Aged Care Financing Authority; the Aged Care Sector Committee and the Aged Care Quality Advisory Council of the Aged Care Quality Agency and the Department of Health's ACFI Monitoring Group. Ian is the COTA representative on the National Aged Care Alliance and its Sponsors Group. He is a Board member of the Aged Rights Advocacy Service (ARAS) in SA.

Michelle Bentley

Michelle is the General Manager, Hender Careers; a nationally based firm, specialising in Career Michelle BentleyManagement, Outplacement and Organisational Development services.

Michelle works closely with clients and individuals to maximise organisational and individual capability and leverage business and career opportunities, in an ever changing and ambiguous world.

A qualified and experienced Director (SACE Board of SA – 6 years) and active member of the Tomorrow’s Director Committee AICD, UniSA HRM Advisory Committee and Mentor on the UniSA Executive Partners Program, Michelle understands the balance of leadership in good governance and operational leadership and management. She is thrilled to join the ARAS Board and Governance & Performance Committee.

Michelle’s qualifications include a Masters of Business Administration, Bachelor of Education and Diploma in Teaching, Certificate IV in Training and Assessment and numerous accreditations in psychometric assessments

Helena KyriazopoulosHelena Kyriazopoulos

Helena Kyriazopoulos has over 35 years’ experience within the ageing and multicultural sectors. She has a Degree in Business, Industrial Law and is a member of the AICD. Helena worked for Alzheimer’s Australia SA for over 22 years as the Access and Equity Unit Coordinator and Secretariat for Alzheimer’s Australia - National Cross Cultural Dementia Network. Helena has also undertaken social research in the areas of CALD carer and ageing needs. Helena is the current CEO of the Multicultural Communities Council of South Australia, a member of the Australian Multicultural Council. Helena sits on a number of Boards including Council of the Ageing SA, Welcome to Australia and is part of the Health Consumers Alliance.


Sue Averay JPSue Averay

After a successful career as an executive in the cultural industries, professional associations and the public sector, Sue is now semi-retired and is a sole practitioner providing support for not-for-profit organisations wanting to improve their performance or move on to a new stage of growth.

She is also a qualified and highly-regarded trainer and coach in 'soft skills' such as written and verbal communication, interpersonal skills and leadership. In 2009, she was listed on the South Australian Women’s Honour roll for her services to mentoring for women.

She has served on and chaired numerous boards, advisory committees and review panels at State and National levels, in particular during periods of organisational change.

She is a COTA-SA policy consultant, a board member of the WEA of SA and is a Justice of the Peace.